Monday, December 20, 2010

The Winter Solstice, Full Moon & Lunar Eclipse

I have a question for my magically oriented friends-

What kind of power & magick is happening when a full moon, a full lunar eclipse & the winter solstice occur on the same day?

I am a half- assed Wiccan/Neo-Pagan. Why half-assed?

Well this is the belief system I feel most comfortable with yet I don't often practice so I'm not up on my magic and power knowledge. I know the full moon is a powerful time, a time for seeing spells come into fruition and for casting spells of prosperity, gain and positivity. I know the Solstice is a time for reflection and for looking ahead, a time to give thanks and to celebrate the return of the light.

What I'm fuzzy on is eclipse magic. I've read that it's not good to cast during an eclipse because it can make things wrong. But I also know that different types of wiccans and witches believe different things.

So my witchy friends tell me, will you be casting this solstice and does this line up of lunar activity mean anything specific that you know of?

For those who don't know what's going on this is what I read on wired.com:

A total lunar eclipse will be visible (weather permitting) across North
America Monday night, just in time for the longest night of the year. This will
be the first time a lunar eclipse has fallen on the winter solstice since
1638.


The Earth’s shadow will begin to blot out the moon at 1:32 a.m. EST
(10:32 p.m. PST). During
totality, when the Earth is directly between the
moon and the sun, the moon will turn a rusty orange-red for 72 minutes from 2:41
a.m. to 3:53 a.m. EST (11:41 p.m. to 12:53 a.m. PST).

No comments: