Monday, October 24, 2016

Music Playlist for Batten Down the Hatches

Happy Halloween everyone! Roxanne D. Howard here. I write contemporary and paranormal erotic romance with Loose Id. Thank you for having me on your blog! Today I’d like to discuss my playlist for my recent release, Batten Down the Hatches, the first book in my new Costa Mesa series.

Each of these series books is holiday themed, and I had an absolute blast writing them.  Piper Goldhirsch is a sassy tabloid reporter out to expose a whale watching captain, but when she realizes Captain Jack’s the same hunk she had sexy shenanigans with at a Halloween Ball, things get tricky when they can’t keep their hands off each other.

From the playlist below, two of the songs that bear a lot of weight to Batten Down the Hatches are “Over and Over Again” by Ariana Grande and Nathan Sykes, and “Fight Song” by Rachel Platten.

When Piper and Jack meet behind the concealment of their masks at a ritzy Halloween Ball, Piper captures Jack’s heart from the second he sees her. They dive feet first into a passionate affair in the billiard room, and though they part ways after, he’s deeply taken with this enigmatic, sexy woman.

Jack crashes into Piper’s life in unexpected ways; she’s successful at busting chops for a living on her show, but after the greatest sex of her life with Jack, the next day she gets called in to a meeting, and finds that he’s her job’s next target! She has to go undercover on a whale watching cruise and expose Jack, knowing full well he’s the same man who incited wild passion in her.

“Fight Song” is her mantra throughout the book as she struggles between her feelings for Jack and her obligation to her work. When Jack and Piper do meet up again, they can’t keep their hands off each other. Please enjoy this playlist I listened to while writing this first book.

1.       Monster Mash – Bobby Pickett
2.       Lady in Red – Chris De Burgh
3.       Beautiful – Christina Aguilara
4.       Over and Over Again -Ariana Grande and Nathan Sykes
5.       Lemonade – Beyoncé
6.       Tonight – Daughtry
7.       Whole lot of Leaving – Bon Jovi
8.       Fly Me to the Moon – Frank Sinatra
9.       Queen of Swords – Idina Menzel
10.     Home – Aloe Blacc
11.     Ex’s and Oh’s – Elle King
12.     Zombie Jamboree – Harry Belafonte
13.     All of Me – John Legend
14.     I’m Yours – Jason Mraz
15.     Alone – Pat Benetar
16.     Come Back To Me- David Cook
17.     Fight Song – Rachel Platten
18.     Captain Jack – Billy Joel

19.     Somewhere Over the Rainbow - Israel Kamakawiwoʻole

Batten Down the Hatches
Costa Mesa Series
Book One
Roxanne D Howard

Publisher: Loose Id

Release Date: October 25, 2016

ISBN: 978-1-68252-230-1

Genre: Contemporary, Holiday, Halloween

Word Count: 26,242

Cover Art by Natalie Duarte 
Design by April Martinez

Book Description:

Piper Goldhirsch is the head reporter for Business Buster, an Undercover Boss-esque tabloid exposé show. While it was never her dream job, it pays the bills. When she attends a masked Halloween Ball and has a passionate affair in the billiard room with a sexy costumed pirate captain who calls himself Captain Jack, what starts out as a few kind words and exchanged kisses soon transforms into the greatest sex of her life, and she’s haunted by the powerful magic between them. Piper parts ways with the mysterious stranger, and assumes she’ll never see him again… until he becomes her job’s next target.

Captain Jack Spencer runs his own brand new whale watching company, Ahoy, Matey, on the outskirts of Costa Mesa and Balboa Island. He’s so good at it he’s garnered the attention of rival companies. Piper is called in by Jack’s nemesis to go undercover on an ocean tour to expose him, and reveal his alleged illegal tricks that have made his business so successful in a short amount of time. But when Piper realizes he’s the same sexy man she slept with at the Halloween Ball, she’s emotionally conflicted. Jack is unable to forget the woman from Halloween, and when they do meet up again, they can’t keep their hands off each other. It’s time to Batten Down the Hatches, because the waves are about to get wild!

About the Author:

Roxanne D. Howard is an author with Loose Id. She has two titles published and one series coming out over the holidays. She is a U.S. Army veteran, and has a bachelor's degree in Psychology and English. She loves to read poetry, classical literature, and Stephen King. She is also an avid Star Wars fan, musical theater nut, and loves everything related to marine biology. She resides in the mid-western United States, and is the proud mother of two beautiful girls, several pets, and loves to spend time with her husband and children when she's not writing. Roxanne loves to hear from her readers, and she can be contacted at

To find out more, please visit her website at