Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Interview with Elise Sax and Amazon Gift Card Giveaway


Is the book, characters, or any scenes based on a true life experience, someone you know, or events in your own life?

--Many of the wacky scenes of my books are inspired by real life news stories. As a former journalist, I’m a news junkie, and I collect weird stories. The owl? Based on a true story.

What books/authors have influenced your life?

--The Hotel New Hampshire by John Irving was a big one. When I was in Vienna, I made a pilgrimage to the school he attended there. Also Victor Hugo…when I lived in Paris, I would go to his house (which is now a museum) and stare at the quill pens he used to write Les Miserables and try to soak up the genius. Yeah, I’m a nerd.

What book are you reading now?

--Joseph Anton by, Salman Rushdie

What books are in your to read pile?

--If you stood on my “to read pile,” you could reach the moon…or at least be really, really tall. I don’t have a lot of time to read these days, but I seem to have all the time in the world to buy books.

What is your current “work in progress” or upcoming projects?

--I’m finishing up the third book in the series: Match and Release.  Then, I’m starting a young adult series.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

--This is from Matchpoint (book two of the Matchmaker Series, which comes out July 30):
"Shut up."
"You can't take it back, now,” he said, interlocking his fingers behind his head. “OK, so I'm a great cop. Tell me how sexy I am. Tell me you want me."
"You are not sexy, and I don't want you," I lied.
"You're almost naked. When you bend down, I can see the whole triple play. It's only a hiccough to a grandslam homerun. Just say the word, and I'll come up to bat."
"You gross me out."
Spencer leaned forward, studied my face for a moment, read something there, and then popped a Dorito in his mouth. "You can't blame a guy for trying," he said.
"Focus on your work, dammit. The town is going to pieces, and there's a face out there. Why isn't anybody impressed by the face?"
"I'm impressed by the face," Spencer said.

Do you have to travel much to do research for your books?

--No. An Affair to Dismember takes place in the fictitious town of Cannes, CA, which I based on the town of Julian, CA. However, I had never been to Julian until after I finished writing the second book.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

--Don’t quit. Nobody got published by quitting.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

--Yes. When your grandma (or someone else you love or respect) tells you that you have “the gift” or a gift or anything reasonably wonderful, go with it. Enjoy.








An Affair to Dismember
The Matchmaker Series, Book One
Elise Sax

Genre: Comedic romantic mystery

Publisher: Ballantine (Random House)

ISBN: 978-0345532220

Number of pages: 320
Word Count: About 80,000



Amazon     BN    Wal-Mart    BooksAMillion

Book Description:

Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger’s limit when it comes to staying in one place. That’s why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family’s matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What’s more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has “the gift.” But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda’s neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family’s drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor’s death was murder. It’s not too long before she’s in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she’s unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?

Praise for An Affair to Dismember

“Elise Sax’s new Matchmaker series is off to a rousing start! . . . Sax gives the comic mystery genre a new spin. . . . A fun read sure to entertain.”—RT Book Reviews

“Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAllister, and Jennifer Crusie.”—Booklist

“Elise Sax will win your heart.”—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis

“In the tradition of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series, Elise Sax’s new novel is a funny, sexy ride.”—Valerie Frankel, author of Four of a Kind

“What a fun book! It will leave readers begging for more.”—Kim Gruenenfelder, author of There’s Cake in My Future


 About the Author:

Elise Sax worked as a journalist for fifteen years, mostly in Paris, France. She took a detour from journalism and became a private investigator before trying her hand at writing fiction. She lives in Southern California with her two sons. An Affair to Dismember, the first in the Matchmaker mystery series, is her first novel.








a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 comments:

Debby said...

This sounds like a great book. I want to read it.
Debby236@ gmail dot com

Elise Sax said...

Thanks, Debby! I hope you enjoy it.

Kathy said...

Laughed at the TBR pile! Mine is almost that big!

donnas said...

Congrats on the release. Cant wait to read it.